(((ER ALERT))) Will Beyonce Pay Homage to Prince on Piano During Formation Tour?

Beyonce-Prince.w529.h352

Image: Grammy.com

Remember when Prince and Beyoncé performed together at the 2004 Grammy Awards?

Beyoncé says instead of rehearsing several hours the day before the show, the two practiced for an hour, every day for a week. In this archived interview, Prince talks about his personal off-stage moment(s) with Beyoncé during rehearsals.

“I was really curious as to how much she knew musically, and I was really pleased to find out that she knew a lot about scales – Mixolydian scales and Egyptian styles, and different things like that. I was just trying to show her some chords on the piano and help her to respect the fact that if she learns piano, a la Aretha Franklin and Ray Charles, the sky’s the limit as to what she can do because she’s so very talented.”

In a 2008 interview with Scott Poulson-Bryant of GIANT Magazine, Beyoncé candidly recalls this memorable milestone career performance.

“For the first time [seeing the performance video]…I was like ‘Are you serious?! I was on the stage with Prince?!’ That is crazy. I still can’t believe it. With me and Prince, I was terrified working with him. Walking into rehearsals I was just so overwhelmed and nervous and starstruck. We rehearsed every day for an hour for a week, instead of rehearsal for six hours the day before. That was so smart – it was Prince’s idea. I guess he knows people are starstruck because he’s so amazing, and it made me really comfortable.”

“I was so scared and in my shell in rehearsals, and on the stage, I didn’t even give him the mic. The mic was supposed to be in the middle, not in my mouth!”

“That moment was so great…the whole thing was amazing. He just kept saying, ‘Don’t be scared. Come on, belt it out.’ Because he could see that I was holding back in rehearsals…and I let it out when it was time. Imagine performing with Prince. It was really surreal.”

Beyoncé posted the below photo on her personal Instagram in remembrance of Prince.

FullSizeRender

It would be truly something special if Beyoncé were to pay homage to Prince on piano during her upcoming Formation World Tour. Just putting it out there

Watch the memorable 2004 Grammy performance here.

 

Leave a Reply

